Welcome to the Clubhouse

Starting a blog is something that I have been giving some thought to doing for several months now.  Since expressing that thought, alot of people in my life have been urging me to start a web page where I blog and express my thoughts on whatever is on my mind, from sports to entertainment, to news to whatever.  So with the help of wordpress and with the support of those around me, I have decided to make that a reality.  So today May 11, 2009 I have begun putting the pen to paper (or in this case punch some keys on a keyboard) on my first blog. 

So now that I’ve come this far, the next logical question is where do I begin?  I guess I should start by telling you about me.  I was born and raised in southern California and am an avid fan of the LA Lakers, LA Kings and Oakland Raiders.  When it comes to baseball I guess I would consider myself a LA Dodgers fan but I also will root for the California/Anaheim/LA Angels.  To those of you coming across this south of the grapevine, I know it’s pretty much blasphemy to say that now, but when I was growing up, southern Cali belonged to the Dodgers and the Angels were a complete after thought and not seen as any kind of threat to the “Azul” (some of you will get that Vic The Brick reference) and considering how little they had accomplished until the 2000’s you can see why.  My dad was taking me to my first Dodger games at the age of four or five.  I didn’t go to my first Angel game until I was 10…and it was a closer drive from where we lived to Orange County.  While I love baseball and am heavily involved in fantasy baseball with some long time friends, I don’t feel that I really root for my baseball teams with the same kind of passion that I root for my teams in the other sports. 

At the age of 22 I decided to leave the comforts of home in southern Cali and move to Las Vegas with two of my friends if for nothing else to get away from home and experience a different way of life in different surroundings.   Sin City is truly a unique place to live.  It’s too hard to explain in one blog but those of you that have lived there at one time in your life know what I am talking about.  While living there I decided to return to school and earned my Bachelor of Arts degree in Communication from UNLV.  After school, I began my career in media as a freelance writer being published in Henderson Home News, Las Vegas Sun, Smash Magazine and LV Sports Magazine.   But while I enjoyed writing I loved the spoken word even more and wanted to give radio a try so after seven years in the desert I packed up my bags and headed to the agriculture capital of central California…Fresno, to try my hand in that medium.  Since living in Fresno, I have kept writing on the side and have had the privilege to be published in His Magazine, The Valley Amateur and on ValleySportsPulse.com.  While I had fun working in radio and had wonderful experiences that will last me forever, life circumstances dictated that it was time for me to move on and do something else. 

This brings me to where I’m at now.  I decided to go back to school and get some different training  so that I can go out and get a “real job”  for steady income but since I love media I am going to keep my hand in some projects both on the writing and radio side of things.  Besides this blog, you can read some of my work at valleysportspulse.com and I’m also working on a MMA radio project called the “Jim and Joe MMA Show” that we are currently trying to bring to a viable outlet near you.  You can follow what Jim is doing over on Twitter at www.twitter.com/jimmmashow.com  One of these days I will probably get on Twitter myself and register a name.  For whatever reason I have been lazy about getting on there and registering but I realize that to get a following and be noticed you have to be made available to as many outlets as possible.  (Update: I now have a twitter page at www.twitter.com/joesclubhouse

Before I wrap up my first blog, I would like to thank the following people:

Kelli Martin for her love and support and for encouraging me to do this.

The Pacheco, Canzoneri, McCaulley and Verburgt familes for their love and support and for raising me to become the person that I am.

The Martin family for also helping me to plant the seed from which this blog will grow and for believing in me.

Chris Pacheco for giving me the opportunity to get into radio.

Jim Verros and Marcas Grant, two of my best friends, for showing me the ropes in the world of radio and for believing in me as a media person.  You can hear Marcas give you updates every 20 minutes on the Sporting News Radio Network.  Check the website http://radio.sportingnews.com for an affiliate near you.  Follow Marcas on his blog at http://tiomt.blogspot.com or at www.twitter.com/MarcasG and check out his view of the LA sports scene on www.ValleySportsPulse.com

Jason Phalen, a friend that taught me a thing or two about being in radio and also believed in my abilities as both a broadcaster and writer and made my transition to life in Fresno a lot easier than it could have been.

Joe Arrigo for being one of the best friends in my life and being as encouraging and supportive as anyone.  He gave me my first radio exposure as the sports guy on his afternoon show.  Check out his blog at http://joeslockerroom.wordpress.com

George Takata for giving me a platform to continue writing and for making my two and half years as his radio producer some of the most enjoyable times in my life.  Check him out on TV here in the Fresno area on CBS 47 and visit his website at www.valleysportspulse.com for the best coverage of the local sports scene here in the central valley.

Daryl Howerton who is one of the best people that I have ever met since moving to Fresno.  Check out his NBA stories on www.nba.com/hoop and his website www.fresnobeach.com

Mary Hausch and Cathy Scott (www.cathyscott.com).  They were two of my former teachers at UNLV that really believed in my writing abilities and helped teach me the skills to be a writer and it’s because of Mary that I was able to get my first writing assignments and get published.

To all of the other important people in my life that I call friend, family, or whatever I thank you too.  I know that  we are all over many parts of this great country and even though we don’t talk as much as we should or see each other very often, I still think about you frequently and consider you an important part of my life. 

Hope you enjoy hanging out in Joe’s Clubhouse.  Thanks again.

Joe Pacheco

Explore posts in the same categories: Miscellaneous

6 Comments on “Welcome to the Clubhouse”

  1. Jim Verros Says:

    Joe,

    The Kings are my balls. LET’S GO RED WINGS!!!

    Your mentor and idol,

    Jim

  2. Cindy Says:

    It’s about time! Congrats, I look forward to seeing your website grow. You’re off to a great start.

    Cindy


  3. and thank YOU, joe, for doing this blog. i’ll defly be checking it out on the regular!!!

  4. Doug Munsey Says:

    Joe,

    Way to go Joe! I enjoyed reading your “insight” and thoughts…I’ll be stopping by again. Talk to you later….

  5. Linda Verburgt (mom) Says:

    Hello,

    I am enjoying your writing as usual. And I now understand the Lost season finale a lot better than I used to!

    Now for Ron’s comments. He wants your opinion on the following subjects:

    1. Should the NFL allow Michael Vick to return?

    2. Will Michael Crabtree be a starter as a “white out” for the 49ers?

    Keep following your life’s passions………..

  6. Mike Logan Says:

    Joe,

    Nicely done!!! I have been reading your blog and it is pretty damn good. Thanks for letting me know about this and keep up the good work..


Leave a Reply

