A Few Thoughts

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve been in the clubhouse so I figured it was time to step back in.  With the MLB playoffs beginning Wednesday, the new NHL season upon us, the NFL season a month old and the NBA season just on the horizon there are many things to be excited about as a sports fan.  Typically I write on one subject but with so much going on I’m going to touch on a few things.  Lets get to it.

As I write this, I’m watching the AL Central Tiebreaker playoff game between the Detroit Tigers and the Minnesota Twins.  The Tigers come into this contest having choked away a seven game lead with 26 to play while the Twins have arrived to this point with all the momentum.  I would take the time to break this down and give you my “in depth” analysis that all of you have come to know and love but I’ll save you the trouble.  Regardless of who wins this game, the Yankess are going to promptly dispatch them right out of the playoffs with what is sure to be a downright thorough butt kicking. 

The American League’s other playoff matchup between the Boston Red Sox and the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim should be a much more compelling way to spend your playoff viewing time.  It seems as though every year these two teams are battling it out in October.  Every year the result has always been the same with the Red Sox emerging victorious.  I know the recent play of both teams should point to a halo victory this year but an argument could have been made for that to happen last year or the year before that or the year before that, etc.  While I’m rooting for a different result I am having a hard time envisioning how that will happen and once again I see Boston advancing to LCS play.  I need to see something happen for me to believe it can happen again and until the Angels defeat the Red Sox in October I have no reason to pick them.  That being said, go Angels!  Please prove me wrong. 

As for the National League matchups, I am picking the Cardinals to defeat the Dodgers and the Phillies to get passed the Rockies.  St. Louis clearly has an advantage over the Dodgers in the pitching department with the two headed monster of Chris Carpenter and Adam Wainwright.  Combine that with the fact, St. Louis owns the Dodgers in recent years even when they don’t have two pitchers with at least 17 wins and its hard to envision the Dodgers getting past the first round.  Just like with the Angels, I am begging the Dodgers to prove me wrong.

As for the Rockies, I just don’t think they have enough to get by the defending champions.  The Phillies have the pitching and a line up that is as dangerous as any in the game.  As for the Rockies, they showed a lot of heart to get to this point.  They took the Dodgers down to the wire in the NL West race and had to stay sharp to hold off a surging Atlanta Braves team in the wild card race.  I think the Rockies are out of gas and simply don’t have enough to defeat the Phillies. 

As a Raiders fan, I have seen many ups and downs (mostly downs in the past 20 years) but this next sentence should sum up just how down things are for the silver and black.  Since going to the Super Bowl at the end of the 2002 season the Raiders are 25-75 in their last 100 regular season games.  That’s not a typo.  The Raiders have won only 25 percent of their games in recent years.  Not even the lousy Lions who were 0-16 last season can lay claim to that   How Raider fans can not be outraged by winning only 25 of their last 100 regular season games is beyond me.  I don’t want to get into it too much with my feelings about the Raiders.  Lets just say I’m very frustrated and near the end of my rope with this laughing stock of a franchise.  If you want to know more about my feeling’s click here.

The NHL season kicked off last Thursday night and I couldn’t be happier.  Growing up in southern California in the 80’s and 90’s I was able to see the greatest player of all-time on a regular basis in Wayne Gretzky.  My parents had season tickets and took us to many games.  Because of those wonderful experiences I became fan for life.  It’s been real tough to be a Kings fan over the past several years but I’m very optimistic about their plan of going young, developing talent and combining that talent with some key free agent veterans.  I like the veteran additions of Ryan Smyth and Rob Scuderi and I think this is the year the King’s return to the postseason.  If Los Angeles can get any kind of steady goaltending from Jon Quick or Erik Ersberg then they should be in good shape.  As always, the Kings will live and die with their goaltending.  I know Quick looked less than stellar on opening night allowing six goals on 30 shots to the lowly Phoenix Coyotes but I keep telling myself it’s just one game. 

Of all my teams I root for in each sport, my favorite, the Los Angeles Lakers begin defense of their title at the end of this month.  I am extremely anxious to see how Ron Artest will replace Trevor Ariza in the mix.  Regardless, I know it will be a fun year in the city of angels. 

Last nights football game between Minnesota and Green Bay lived up to the hype.  Favre without a doubt proved that he is still a very capable quarterback in the league.  Despite what some people are saying, I still believe Green Bay did the right thing by going with Aaron Rodgers.  Favre retired and they moved on.  Kudos to them for sticking with their decision.  Rodgers is only going to get better and will be one of the top quarterbacks in the game for several years after Favre eventually calls it quits for good.  Minnesota may be getting the best of things in the short term but I think the long term battle will be won by Green Bay. 

As for my personal affairs, the Jim and Joe MMA Show has been up and rolling for almost two months.  I have really enjoyed being part of the show and believe in it with all my conviction.  I have had more fun building this program over the past two months then I did working in radio full-time the past couple of years.  If you haven’t listened to it, please check it out by clicking on “Listen Now” at www.jjmmashow.com.  If you know someone who likes MMA please pass the word on to them.  Right now we’re just trying to get the word out and grow our audience.  If you have any feedback on the show please let me know. 

Take care everyone and thanks for stepping into the clubhouse with me.

Explore posts in the same categories: Miscellaneous

2 Comments on “A Few Thoughts”

  1. Marcas Says:

    This MMA Show you speak of…how would one go about hearing it?


Leave a Reply

